The 34th Edmonton International Film Festival In Theatres and Broadcast On Super Channel Fuse October 1 to 10 | Super Channel

SUPER CHANNEL PRESS ROOM

The 34th Edmonton International Film Festival In Theatres and Broadcast On Super Channel Fuse October 1 to 10

09 / 22 / 2020

Strange times call for the world’s best films

EDMONTON (September 22, 2020) – The 2020 edition of EIFF is upon us, and organizers have doubled their efforts to provide audiences with two (2) opportunities to engage with films, and explore new worlds through the magic of cinema.

The festival films – 30 feature-length dramas and documentaries + 22 short film programs – will all screen at Landmark Cinemas 9 City Centre. Seating capacities in each theatre are reduced by 75%, and the festival has expanded to 4 screens. Historically, EIFF films are only programmed once – for reasons beyond our control – however this year, most feature films will each have 3 screenings and tickets for in-theatre films are reduced to $5-$10.

The Edmonton International Film Festival presented by Super Channel offers up 15 feature-length films and 20 short film programs from the full festival line-up. Sydney Moule, Festival Co-Producer writes, “To give our at-home audience the feeling that they’re here, with us, in a movie theatre we tried to program every film on Super Channel at the same time that the in-theatre screenings are happening. So, for example, while you are watching our opening night film, JASMINE ROAD, settled into your villa in New Brunswick, sipping Chardonnay, we are watching, too, in the movie theatre.” Vincent Brulotte, Programmer, adds “And, where we have filmmakers attending, once the credits roll, you can join our Q&A in-theatre on Facebook Live. It doesn’t matter where you are across the country.”

Historically, EIFF kicks off its 10-day celebration of cinema with a salute to our own storytellers and again this year, Canadian filmmakers offered up much to ponder when choosing the ‘right film’ for the festival’s prestigious Opening Night slot. Alberta’s Warren Sulatycky opens the festival with JASMINE ROAD, an emotional and empathetic story of a Syrian family who find themselves in Southern Alberta.

And that’s just the beginning. October 1 to 10 is rich with NEW content. This year’s cinematic line-up includes dramatic features, documentaries and short film programs curated from the thousands of films submitted this season, including the ever-popular LUNCHBOX SHORTS™ -- no lunch will be provided for guests in-theatre and if you’re watching together at home (or at the office) on Super Channel, order in. You could be seeing the next OSCAR® winners!

As always, we are proud to showcase films created by Albertans – whether they live elsewhere now, or not – STUDIO A is a series of 4 short film programs presented on Super Channel, and in-theatre on Saturday, October 3.

Local Highlights:
World Premiere of BALIKBAYAN: FROM VICTIMS TO SURVIVORS– A documentary chronicling the activism of Jonathan ‘Jon Jon’ Rivero, an Edmontonian who ‘repatriates’ to the Philippines to help children living on the streets.

World Premiere of THEY WHO SURROUND US – Filmed in Vegreville, Alberta, Director/Writer Troy Ruptash also stars in this affecting tale of love and loss.

POSTER Headlines (by FKA):
Finally, something to laugh about.
It’s weird out there. Let’s get weirder.
See the world, even if the world won’t let you.
This year won’t end. At least our horror movies do.

Below is a list of the 15 feature films that can be seen across Canada on Super Channel Fuse. If you are not able to attend EIFF in person, don’t miss your chance to see these outstanding films!

  • Jasmine Road (Canada) - Thursday, Oct 1 @ 6:30 p.m. MT/ 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Barefoot Warriors (USA) - Friday, Oct 2 @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • John, 316 (Canada) - Sunday, Oct 4 @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Our Dance of Revolution (Canada) - Monday, Oct 5 @ 6:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Don’t Forget to Breathe (Slovenia) – Monday, Oct 5 @ 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET
  • Transkids (Israel) – Tuesday, Oct 6 @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Stay Still (Germany) - Tuesday, Oct 6 @ 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET
  • Balikbayan: From Victims to Survivors (Canada) – Wednesday, Oct 6 @ 6:30 p.m. MT/ 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Model (China) - Wednesday, Oct 6 @ 8:15 p.m. MT/ 10:15 p.m. ET
  • The Endless Chain (Canada)– Thursday, Oct 8 @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Golden Men (Italy)– Thursday, Oct 8 @ 8:00 p.m. MT / 10:00 p.m. ET
  • They Who Surround Us (Canada)– Friday, Oct 9 @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Cabarete (Dominican Republic) – Friday, Oct 9 @ 8:00 p.m. MT / 10:00 p.m. ET
  • Max and Me (USA)– Saturday, Oct 10 @ 3:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. ET
  • Happy Place (Canada)– Saturday, Oct 10 @ @ 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET